James Monroe $1 Coin First Day Coin Cover

The United States Mint began sales of the James Monroe $1 Coin Cover on March 14, 2008. This represented the fifth release for the product type, which had been introduced in the previous year. After the earlier excitement of the Presidential Dollar Program had faded and the most well known Presidents had been featured, demand for the American Presidency $1 Coin Covers began to decline.

Sales of the release featuring James Monroe would continue until June 30, 2009. The final sales reached 36,139 out of the 50,000 maximum production limit established by the Mint.

Text of the Cover:

James Monroe: Fifth President of the United States of America

James Monroe collaborated with his Secretary of State, John Quincy Adams, to form the principles of U.S. foreign policy later called the Monroe Doctrine, which asserted a U.S. sphere of influence in the Western Hemisphere. The James Monroe $1 Coin was issued by the United States Mint on February 14, 2008. The coin’s obverse, executed by United States Mint Sculptor/Engraver Joseph Menna, shows Monroe’s distinctive portrait, while the reverse, executed by United States Mint Sculptor/Engraver Don Everhart, depicts the Statue of Liberty. The coin edge is inscribed with the mint mark, the year 2008, and the words “In God We Trust” and “E Pluribus Unum.”

The James Monroe $1 Coins showcased in this Official American Presidency $1 Coin Cover are coins that were struck on the first day of minting — January 3, 2008. This historic cover also bears the U.S. 41-cent American Flag stamp. The postmark of February 14, 2008, Charlottesville, Virginia, marks the day the James Monroe $1 Coins were first released to the public, certifying this limited edition.

James Monroe Presidential Dollar Coin Covers For Sale:

First Day of Mintage: January 3, 2008

First Day of Issue: February 14, 2008

Maximum Product Limit: 50,000

Product Code: P25

US Mint Issue Price: $14.95